April 15, 2021 •
Select Page

Lay Leadership

photo courtesy Jan Press PhotMedia

Julie A. Silbermann photo by Jan Press PhotoMedia

Message from TBA President Julie A. Silbermann

Dear fellow Temple B’nai Abraham congregants,

I write to you as your newly elected president of the congregation. For those of you who know me, I am about to serve my second turn as president—having also served from 2013 to 2017. For those of you that I have yet to meet, I look forward to doing so via Zoom or, even better, soon in person.

I have been a temple member for almost 40 years. My grandchildren would be the 5th generation of Silbermann family members to be part of the TBA community. And one of the most wonderful aspects of being a Temple B’nai Abraham member is knowing you have this community. In these unprecedented times, having each other spiritually close is of critical importance. Please know that your temple is always here for you.

We now need to look ahead to what our immediate future will be. We hope and pray for our in-person reopening to be soon so we can again worship together, learn together, play together, and just be together. In these extraordinary times, we have the opportunity to make everything we can do together be very special.

I know we all have TBA in our hearts. As president, I will do my utmost to serve effectively and efficiently, always keeping our beautiful temple, our congregants, and all of our interests in mind. Please know that I will always serve to the best of my ability and I will certainly serve proudly every day.

Thank you,


Temple B’nai Abraham is grateful to be a recipient of a COVID Safety grant from The Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey (HFNJ). 2020 has been the year of the pandemic­—the most serious and urgent public health crisis in generations. To help keep the people in our community safe, HFNJ has worked to enable our community non-profits and institutions to understand this new landscape and has funded work to meet this new reality. TBA appreciates HFNJ’s support during these challenging times.


Officers 2021-2022

Julie A. Silbermann

Vice Presidents
Isabella Fiske
Jay Kooper
Dave Silber
Kenneth Starr

Tara Heyderman

Assistant Secretary
Deborah Jacob

Bennett Wasserman

Assistant Treasurer
Carey Gertler

Immediate Past President
Jeffrey A. Klein, Esq.

Jakob B. Halpern


Past Presidents

Jeffrey A. Klein, Esq. 2020-2021
*Bruce H. Greene, z”l 2017-2020
Julie A. Silbermann 2013-2017
Edward Meinhardt 2009-2013
BJ Reisberg 2005-2009
Jeffrey D. Roth 2003-2005
Sandra L. Greenberg 1999-2003
Merle H. Kalishman 1995-1999
Ira M. Starr 1991-1995
Marilyn Rosenbaum 1987-1991
*Joel J. Rogoff, z”l 1983-1987
Peter M. Klein 1981-1983
Martin H. Kalishman 1977-1981
*I. Samuel Sodowick, z”l 1973-1977
*Abram Barkan, z”l 1971-1973
*Dr. Sol Parent, z”l 1969-1971
*A. Sam Gittlin, z”l  1965-1969
*Leo Brody, z”l 1963-1965
*Norman Feldman, z”l 1959-1963
*Leo Brody, z”l 1954-1959
*Louis Rosen, z”l 1953-1954
*Samuel Klein, z”l 1949-1953
*Michael A. Stavitsky, z”l 1939-1949
*Albert Hollander, z”l 1926-1939
*Phillip J. Schlotland, z”l  1913-1926
*William S. Rich, z”l 1896-1912
*Moritz Beria, z”l 1871-1896
*Lesser Marks, z”l 1853-1870

* z”l-of blessed memory

Temple B’nai Abraham, Socially Distant…Spiritually Close! Stay safe & well!

Pin It on Pinterest