April 27, 2017 •
Select Page

Get Involved…

Temple Committees 2017-2018

Constituent Organizations

Men’s Club—invites all adult male Temple B’nai Abraham members to join and become active members of Men’s Club. We are a diverse organization that promotes camaraderie, friendship, chivalry and service to the community as well as a connection to B’nai Abraham and the Jewish community. Men’s Club President Brian Altman, bja52994@aol.com

Parent-Teacher Association (PTA)—is committed to enhancing the Jewish Learning Program experience for the children at our synagogue. It is our goal to provide a positive and enriching Jewish traditional and cultural atmosphere for all children attending school and services at the Temple. President: Julie Sherman, jsherman212@gmail.com

Sisterhood—offers friendship, fun, learning, growth and involvement to all female members of B’nai Abraham while also serving the Temple and Jewish community at large. The Sisterhood Judaica Shop, located outside of the Saul Reinfeld Hall, is a convenient place to purchase gifts from a high quality selection of items for every life cycle event and Jewish holidays.
Co- Presidents: Sandra Kantor, skantor@briad.com & Suzanne Weinick, sweinick@comcast.net

Auxiliary Association

Early School Parents’ Council—is the link among the parents of The Early School, school staff, temple groups and staff. Our goal is to enhance the early childhood educational experience for our children. Co-Presidents: Tara Heyderman, tarap14@gmail.com & Amy Solomon, amyw830@yahoo.com

Committees

Audit – oversees the auditors and presents the audit report to the Board for approval.  Requires financial background.  Chair: Peter Rosenbaum, peter.rosenbaum@ey.com

Board of Education – is responsible for the Early School, Primary and Religious School Education.  It is also responsible for adult education programs.  It recommends policy to the Board of Trustees and oversees the functioning and practices of these programs, as well as the Junior Youth Group.  Co-Chairs: Michelle Barishaw, barishaw@comcast.net & Abby Silverman, abbysilverman@comcast.net

Budget Committee – works with the Treasurer, Executive Director and Controller to set the budget for the Temple year.  Chair: Robin Hecht, thehechts@aol.com

Buildings and Grounds Committee – charged with the ongoing oversight of all maintenance and improvement of Temple property except for the Memorial Park.  This includes responsibility for developing operating and capital budget recommendations for our grounds and physical plant. It is also responsible for recommending policy regarding all security issues at the temple. Co-Chairs: Brian Altman, bja52994@aol.com & Darren Schumer, dschumer@comcast.net

Development Committee – works to organize and oversee the raising of all voluntary revenues for the Temple and provides leadership to the committees associated with these areas.  Help with congregational outreach for these programs. The committee manages the Annual Giving Program—Partners in Leadership, Tribute Funds and Plaques.  Chair: Julie Silbermann, julie.silbermann57@gmail.com

Fiscal Policy Review Committee – ad hoc committee periodically created to review financial and other policies and make recommendations to the Officers for consideration. Chair: Mark Rosenbaum, mrosenbaum@stroock.com

Investment Committee – is responsible for recommending to the Board action to be taken concerning the TBA Ross Endowment Fund, other Temple funds, and our portfolio manager’s recommendations. In addition, it identifies broad investment strategy and provides guidelines for policy implementation.  Requires financial background. Chair: Max Silbermann, clubmax15@gmail.com

Membership Committee – is the group that welcomes new members, focuses on membership retention, encourages membership and member participation, and is responsible for new member events.  The committee also works to effectively communicate about temple activities. Co-Chairs: Tara Heyderman, tarap14@gmail.com &Scott Wolfson, swolfson@eplus.com

Memorial Park Committee – works with the Park director and the Board of Trustees in setting policy, prices and practice.  Our Memorial Park is located on Route 22 in Union. Co-Chairs: Richard Dinar, richardd@theprogressivecompanies.com & Mark Meller, meller@silversuntech.com

Nominating Committee – committee chosen specifically by Constitutional provisions which proposes the slate of Trustees and Officers for election.  Volunteers cannot self-appoint to this committee. Co-Chairs: Myrna Wertheimer, myrna@netwert.com & Marjie Zucker, marjiezucker@verizon.net

Prime Time – Geared to those 55 and older but open to all who are interested.  Sponsors varied programs and trips throughout the year. Chair: Ethel Singer, ethel4s@aol.com

Ritual – works with Rabbi and Cantor in setting policy for services and ritual practice.  The Ritual Committee is also responsible for ushering.  The ushers help to keep order at weekly Temple services, on holidays and at special events, and assists visitors. Co-Chairs: Edward Meinhardt, meinhardted@gmail.com & Ginny Roth, ginnyroth14@gmail.com

Social Action Committee – plans and implements projects and events around issues of significance in our community and world. It also works with the clergy and congregational nurse to assist congregants and their families during times of need. Co-Chairs:  Lori Kudish, slkudish@comcast.net & Janet Penn, janpen10@comcast.net

Ways and Means Committee – is responsible for planning and implementing fund raising and social events for the Temple.  Co-Chairs: Erica Facktor, efacktor@yahoo.com, Amanda Fiverson, amanda@fiverson.com & Ilana Lebersfeld, imlebersfeld@gmail.com 

Pin It on Pinterest